Next Prev Book Now
Slide 1 Slide 6 Slide 3 Slide 5
Slide 7 Slide 8 Slide 9

Testimonials

We get some really lovely testimonials and I’ve decided to put them on their own page.  If anyone is on Trip Advisor though and would like to post their comments there – that would also be fantastic! – Tiffany, Marketing Dolphin Discovery Centre – tiffany@dolphindiscovery.com.au


 

REVIEW OF THE SEASON :)
We knew that the wild dolphins may or may not visit on the day we planned to go, but we were happy to check out the rest of the centre anyway. We checked the weather forecast and shifted our itinerary such that we could go on a sunny day. Turns out dolphins tend not to visit when weather conditions are rough, so our decision was prescient!We arrived around 10:45am, and pottered around the quaint homey little rock pool and aquarium, staffed by lovely volunteers who really wowed our 2 little children. They got acquainted with the rock pool inhabitants, and watched feeding time!Suddenly there was some activity, and the (10-15?) folks visiting at the time dashed out to the beach where we were treated to one of the most magical experiences of our lives! Those who live nearby and volunteer are so blessed to be able to interact with these amazing dolphins on a regular basis!We saw 5 dolphins frolic in front of us, and waded out in a line, mesmerized by the beauty and proximity of these wild yet tame and oh so playful creatures.It was a glorious sunny day, and our kids loved the beach and playground. The coloring materials were also a sweet child-friendly touch provided by this centre. We learnt so much about dolphins that day (there was a guided tour by a really knowledgeable and humourous guide) and we’re so glad a centre like this exists – it’s such a wonderful form of advocacy for wild dolphins’ conservation.Photos and more details of our wonderful experience can be found here. http://littlebluebottle.blogspot.sg/2013/09/perth-2013-wading-with-wild-dolphins.html Via Trip Advisor
“Great place to visit”
“Great day out”
“Worth every minute…”Reviewed 28 July 2015

One of the best tourist attraction in Bunbury, Perth. We were late 15 minutes for the boat ride but it was all thanks to the receptionist that help us to get through it. Worth every minute of it!! We were surrounded by dolphins most of the time and how lucky we are to see baby dolphins do the jumping! I would say that every time I visited Perth, I never had a chance to do sightseeing and I’m glad this was part of my trip last May 2015. Great place to visit! Will be back!!

Visited May 2015

“Very interesting and knowledgeable staff”

Reviewed 26 July 2015

We were not lucky enough to have any Dolphins visit while we were there but it was a great place nonetheless. The staff were so interesting and obviously love their work. We really enjoyed hearing all about the different dolphins and their behaviour. Also the tanks of fish inside were amazing. I didn’t really like the octopus but it was very interesting to see it and watch its behaviour as the tank was cleaned. When we were leaving we were told there had been a whale sighting nearby and exactly where to go to see if it was still around. It was and we got great pictures. Thanks so much.

Visited July 2015
“Educational yet exciting!”

Reviewed 30 June 2015

This is a great tourist attraction for people to come and learn about the wonderful and amazing marine life that lives in Koombana Bay.

Visited November 2014
“INFORMATIVE, EDUCATIONAL AND FUN”

Reviewed 8 July 2015

The centre is well worth a visit for both the inside exhibition, standing knee deep in the water at the beach edge to wait for dolphins to come up quite close, and also if you want to do it, the boat ride to see dolphins in the harbour.
The inside exhibition was very informative with both small live sea creatures and other displays. The dolphins come quite close to those who stand in the water. The boat trip was a very good experience with an experienced skipper who had good knowledge of the dolphins, where they would be and other information about them. We saw a large number on that trip and some were very close (a half a metre) to the boat.. recommended and reasonably priced.

Visited March 2015
“We had a great time”

Reviewed 30 June 2015

My wife and I went to the Dolphin Discovery Centre on a ‘Swim with the Dolphins’ cruise and I must say it was amazing. We were out with the dolphins for almost 2 hrs and it was brilliant. The staff there are all volunteers and do an amazing job. They are all very helpful.
Inside the ‘dolpinarium’ it is well stocked with the usual touristy things and there is a 3D display of a dolphin experience without getting into the water.
You can sometimes see the dolphins up close out on the beach and interact with them, but with wildlife, you are not guaranteed to see them, so it’s luck of the draw.
It’s not open all day either so you might want to do your homework and make some inquiries beforehand to avoid being disappointed.

Visited December 2014
“Open Day”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

The Discovery Centre Open Day was fantastic. The kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves and the dolphin tour is excellent.

“Great experience”
Visiting during the winter the swimming encounter is not available but I was still able to go on the Eco cruise. Best to get to the centre a little before 10 am as the octopus feeding begins at 10. Staff are very helpful and informative. After an hour’s search we finally found a pod of dolphins that came close by. Well worth the trip. If going on the boat trip in the winter make sure you have warm clothing. The digital dolphinarium is also worth experiencing. You feel you’re part of the pod feeding.
Reviewed 14th June 2014
“Great Value”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 June 2015

Only had time to do one thing in Bunbury and not a lot of money to spend. Well worth it. The kids had a ball. Learnt a lot and enjoyed learning. Volunteers were fantastic and all the sea creatures kept the kids very engaged. Thanks.

“Fun day out”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Great for the kids and adults alike, with a touch pool and an assortment of other live marine life on display. The highlight of course is the dolphins, on our visit with family and grand children the dolphins came in several times, getting there around 9am is best so you don’t miss them. A tip though to actually view the dolphins you don’t need to pay as the beach is a public area, but too appreciate and support the work done what’s a view dollars.
Reviewed 30th May
“Worth the trip”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Super-friendly and helpful staff but this place over the top for us. They had recommendations (and directions!) for nearby activities and were amazing. We took the dolphin cruise and saw dolphin pods most of the time while we were out on the water. Note – these are wild dolphins that just do what they want. Lots to learn and some interesting fish tanks inside, too – including octopuses (octopi?), a sea hare, and sea horses. There was an immerse 360 degree dolphin theater too, which was pretty amazing.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           Visited May 2014
“Highly recommended to visit if your’re in Perth”
We have been to the Bunbury Dolphin Discovery Centre a few times and have been lucky to be able to meet the dolphins up close on the shore. Its quite an experience as these are wild dolphins. Its only 2-hours drive down from Perth so you either drive down early in the morning or spend a night in Bunbury as you’d have higher chances of meeting the dolphins in the morning than other times of the day. Even if you don’t get to see the dolphins, the centre is a nice place to relax for coffee breaks. There is playground for kids and aquarium. The staff (most are volunteers) are also friendly and always willing to share their experience in their researches on the local dolphins.
Reviewed 8th May 2014
“Great day out”
The Dolphin Discovery Centre is about to be redeveloped we were told.
The centre is pretty basic, but has interesting marine animals to view and learn about. A great adventure for kids.
We also did the boat trip, which was fun. We saw lots of dolphins and some lovely coastal scenery.
It can be cold on the water, so take a jacket, bottled water and perhaps a snack, as no food or drink is supplied.
Reviewed 7th May 2014
“Great place to visit”
My children and I fell in love with the Dolphin Discovery Centre. Great value for money and plenty of things to keep the kids busy while waiting for the dolphins to come. Although we didn’t get to watch a feeding session, we still saw dolphins coming close to shore and the staff were very apologetic. The staff were all very friendly and extremely passionate. They were all very inspiring people, my young daughter came away telling me that she wants to come back and work here when she grows up. Highly recommend a visit.
Reviewed 4th May 2014
“Very good for the price”
For $10 you get to get up and close to wild dolphins. At 8:45am 1 dolphin came close into shore and the volunteers usher us out into the water about knee height. The dolphin then comes up and repeatedly swims up close to us. It was soon joined by a 2nd dolphin. Wonderful experience. There are also Aquariums inside with other Marine animals and some information about the lifes of Dolphins. Good value for money.
Reviewed April 2014
“Exceeded expectations! Great value for money Eco-tourism run by passionate people!”
I loved every minute of it. I was skeptical at first.
We did the Eco-boat tour for 1.5 hours and got to see many pods of dolphins. Our skipper was really passionate and knowledgeable about dolphins and gave us a lot of information.
I love that these dolphins were in fact in the wild and not lured there!
It is getting too cold for the dolphins to come up to the shore for an interaction but included in the price of the boat ride you get two re-entries per person! (Great value!)
We used the entertainment book discount (25% off) and are students so at $30 each it was truly worth it. I wouldn’t hesitate to pay the full $49 either for Eco-tourism and the fact that they are non for profit and the money goes back into conservation!Definitely worth it!
Reviewed 30th April 2014The aquarium itself was not very big and maybe not totally worth the $10 entry fee but if you get to interact with the dolphins it would definitely be worth it! But why not try the boat trip?
“Must see if you are coming to Bunbury”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 21 April 2014

The Dolphin Discovery Centre has so much to offer everyone at an budget. Learn about them in the centre or you can go on a boat and swim with them. Most of the staff are volunteers and will help you in any way they can. Bunbury is a great place to take some time out. – via Trip Advisor

Wonderful experience for all the family”

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We managed to go on the one trip all summer where the dolphins didn’t interact and yet we still had a great experience. Staff were knowledgeable and good humored and were outstanding in the way they helped my 8 year old son to snorkel when he lost his nerve. Saw a few dolphins very close up and can’t fault the efforts of the boat crew to find them. Very fair partial refund policy/further trip when the dolphins do not interact-remember they are not in captivity here but truly wild. I would definitely go back if I could and it was still a great experience. The whole thing was very well organised-thanks guys!

Visited April 2014

 “LOVED IT .. A GREAT EXPERIENCE !”

 

From Our Blog

Southern Right Whale in Koombana Bay!!!!

What an exciting day today for our lucky guests who joined the dolphin sightseeing tour. Not only did they enjoy a large family of dolphins playing in the Bay, but they also had the fortune to observe

Southern Right Whales Are Here!

If there is one thing winter brings to the south west that everyone loves it would have to be whales. Over the past few weeks a number of brief whale sightings have been reported however today has been

Job Opportunity

Café Casual Position Applications close COB Friday 14th November 2014 The Dolphin Discovery Centre is seeking a keen, friendly people person to work three days Saturday/Sunday/Mondays on a permanent,